May Thoughts

What am I going to do with my life? So many people my age are freaking out about this question, and believe me, so am I. But does all of the stress really pay off in the end? “Most people don’t end up doing what they went to college for,” and “it’s the journey that matters” are the things the old people say. Those phrases may do little to calm the nerves of my generation, but those phrases are truthful.

And I might not be the biggest fan of Bethel University quite yet, and this school year may not have been a very great one, but that’s life. I’ve learned a lot about myself this year. For instance, I’m beginning to stick up for myself, and I’m starting to not care so much about what other people think of me. I still have a long way to go, but every day I’m getting stronger, and that’s pretty awesome.

I’ve also had a few major changes since senior year, which is typical of me. I’ve been changing my mind on my dream career almost every couple of months since I was in kindergarten. For the last half of high school, I thought I wanted to be an elementary school teacher. When summer rolled around, I decided I would do graphic design, cause who wouldn’t want a job in art? But in winter I changed my mind again…

Now I’m going to pursue a double major in biology and environmental science, and hopefully “save the earth.” When I informed my academic advisor of my plans, he chuckled. And I almost laughed with him (it is a cliché goal), but he quickly informed me that he just has a nervous laugh that has gotten him in trouble quite a bit in the past. So it looks like I’ll be keeping my dream of saving the world.

Maybe I’ll save endangered species or start up an organic farm or provide people with clean drinking water or find the cure for cancer in some marine plant. Maybe this is just a good day, but I’m feeling pretty optimistic. May is the greatest month, and summer is coming. The trees are blooming green and white and pink and the days are growing warm…

Leave a Reply

